This page hi-lights the websites/workings of our participating members. 

Anthony Kelley  ~   Emmet Price ~  Trevor Weston ~  James Lee  ~  Guy Ramsey

Louise Toppin ~   Anthony Greene  ~   Nkeiru Okeyo ~   Britanny Boykin ~  Carlos Simon

Kevin Scott   ~    Nick Lewis ~   Regina Harris Baiocchi ~   Tania Leon ~  Anthony Davis

Stephen Newby  ~   Tammy Kernoodle  ~   Evelyn Simpson Currenton    ~  Michael Abels 

Donal Fox  ~   Mike Woods   ~   Ysaye Barnwell  ~   Patrice Rushen ~  Billy Childs 

Julius Williams   ~   Richard Thompson ~   Mark Lomax ~   Eric Gould ~  Ty Cooper

Alvin Singleton  ~    Jonathan Holland ~  Gary Powell Nash  ~    Dwight Andrews ~
Andre Myers ~     George Lewis ~   Karen Walwyn ~  Bill Banfield
Evelyn Simpson-Curenton ~ Michael Abels ~

Composers of Color Collective

( CCC)


Composers of Color is a collective, group of colleagues of working composers brought together to discuss, explore the creative conditions of our music in the marketplace, academy and concert world. The main purpose is to provide

collegial support, advise and to bring visibility, and institutional partnering to the programming, public exposure, understanding, study and performance of new music creation. We also believe those of us in the arts and humanities have a tremendous responsibility to provide direction and training of young people today. Committed to mentoring, outreach, expanding the base of sonic literacy, our group is inclusive of composers, creative artists, educators, university and community administrators, who too are committed to the visibility and support of this kind of music programming. 

Brought into action

April, 27, 2013, 



One of the purposes of our meeting was to function as a strategic planning session for a sustainable series of events focusing on the future programming of concerts, symposiums, publications, sharing and resource gathering, connected to scholarly information and collegial base support of our efforts to create new music. We also felt it needed to be initiated by us, creative musicians for our cause, not any institution.


But, we thought it ” smart” to invite “administrative heads and doers”

first, to the table who through their expertise and associations can help to put down a sustainable track of events. And so a draft mission statement was proposed, meant to be amended at the first annual meeting…


And we remember the famous 1969 summit at Indiana U, that the book Black Music in Our Culture( 1970) and The Black Composer Speaks( 1978)were published which both serve as the landmark works that help to chart our challenge forward.


Thus we crafted a meaning and mission statement forward….



CCC Core

Anthony Kelley

Emmet Price

Trevor Weston

James Lee

Guy Ramsey

Louise Toppin

Anthony Greene

Nkeiru Okeyo 

Britanny Boykin

Carlos Simon

Kevin Scott 

Nick Lewis 

Regina Harris Biacohhi

Tania Leon

George Lewis

Anthony Davis

Stephen Newby

Tammy Kernoodle

Evelyn Simpson Currenton

Michael Abels 

Donal Fox

Mike Woods

Andre Myers (

Ysaye Barnwell

Patrice Rushen 

Billy Childs

Julius Williams 

Richard Thompson 

Mark Lomax 

Eric Gould 

Ty Cooper

Alvin Singleton 

Jonathan Holland 

Gary Powell Nash 

Dwight Andrews

Bill B 2024